People who live in Connecticut may not realize it but they could face up to six years in prison and a $10,000 fine for not possessing a marijuana tax stamp, like the Connecticut Marijuana Tax Stamps Law requires. Anybody who has more than 42.5 ounces of marijuana in Connecticut is supposed to get a marijuana tax stamp.
Persons who do not have a marijuana tax stamp would also be subject to a tax of $3.50 on every ounce of marijuana they possess over 42 ounces. The state could even force these individuals to pay 200 times the amount of the tax.
The worst thing about this law is that nobody can actually buy Connecticut Marijuana Tax Stamps even if they wanted to. The state does not actually issue the stamps even though it theoretically requires marijuana users to have them.
How Marijuana Tax Stamps Work
The Connecticut Marijuana Tax Stamps are actually a legal trick dreamed by Congress in the 1930s to ban Marijuana. Under a federal law called the Marijuana Tax Act of 1937, Congress required a tax stamp on marijuana but didn’t actually issue the stamps. This meant that those who were found in possession of marijuana could be arrested and imprisoned for possessing it.
In recent years a number of states marijuana tax stamps in an effort to raise revenue from drug dealers and the Connecticut Marijuana Tax Stamps law is included among these. The state which bans the use or sale of marijuana is trying to collect a tax on the marijuana found in the possession of drug dealers. Marijuana that the state will destroy after it seizes it anyway.
The Connecticut Marijuana Tax Stamps law also gives prosecutors a method of going after marijuana possessors in civil court. The state can theoretically sue those who possess marijuana for not purchasing the Connecticut Marijuana Tax Stamps for it. This means that a person could conceivably be sued for not having something the state refuses to sell to the public.